Baltimore Chapter of the American Guild of Organists
Enriching lives through organ and choral music


Back to All Events

43rd Annual Baltimore Bach Marathon

  • St. David's Episcopal Church 4700 Roland Avenue Baltimore, MD, 21210 United States (map)

Performances featuring major repertoire including the Art of Fugue, the Well-Tempered Clavier, and performers including Jordan Prescott, Diane Luchese, Paul Byssainthe, Jr. and Douglas Buchanan; chamber musicians Lura Johnson, Lavena Johanson, Mark Janello and Joelle Arnhold; and choir of St. Davids’s. Complete Schedule:

Due to the extended nature of the marathon, please note that all timings are approximate.

Introduction and Welcome

Jordan Prescott, organ
Prelude in e minor, BWV 533a
Andante from Sonata IV, BWV 528
Fugue in e minor, BWV 533b
O mensch bewein dein Sünde gross, BWV 622
Prelude and Fugue in C Minor, BWV 546

Mi Zhou, organ
Concerto in A Minor, BWV 593
Prelude and Fugue in D Major, BWV 532

Joelle Arnhold and Mark Janello
Sonata for Viola da Gamba in D Major, BWV 1028

Doug Buchanan, piano and organ
The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080
Contrapunctus I
Contrapunctus II
Contrapunctus III
Contrapunctus IV
Canon 1
Contrapunctus XII (inversus)
Contrapunctus XIII (inversus)
Canon 2
Contrapunctus V
Contrapunctus VI
Contrapunctus VII

Diane Luchese, organ
Praeludium in G Major, BWV 568
Three Orgelbüchlein Chorale Preludes
Wenn wir in höchsten Nöthen sein, BWV 641
Jesu, meine Fredue, BWV 610
O Mensch, bewein’ dein’ Sünde gross, BWV 622
Pièce d’Orgue in G Major, BWV 572

Paul Byssainthe, Jr., organ
Prelude and Fugue in A Minor, BWV 543
Selections from the Schübler Chorales
Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
Meine Seele erhebt den Herren, BWV 648
Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunet, BWV 650
Fugue on BACH, Op. 60, no. 6, by Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Doug Buchanan, piano and organ
The Art of Fugue
Contrapunctus VIII
Contrapunctus IX
Contrapunctus X
Contrapunctus XI
Canon 3
Contrapunctus XII (rectus)
Contrapunctus XIII (rectus)
Canon 4
Contrapunctus XIV

Lavena Johanson, cello
Cello Suite no. 3 in C Major, BWV 1009

Lura Johnson, piano
Selections from the Well-Tempered Clavier
Fugue in C Major, BWV 870
Fugue in C Minor, BWV 871
Fugue in C Sharp Major, BWV 872
Fugue in C Sharp Minor, BWV 873
Fugue in D Major, BWV 874
Fugue in D Minor, BWV 875
Fugue in E Flat Major, BWV 876
Fugue in D Sharp Minor, BWV 877
Fugue in E Major, BWV 878
Fugue in E Minor, BWV 879
Fugue in F Major, BWV 880
Fugue in F Minor, BWV 881

The Choir of St. David’s, with Lavena Johanson and Bozena Brown, Continuo           Komm, Jesu, komm, BWV 229
Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden, BWV 230